happy hour with: Molly Rasmussen of Heart of a Blonde

Happy Hour with Molly Rasmussen of Heart of a Blonde

Image via Heart of a Blonde

I have always had this dream of hosting a happy hour and inviting all the women that I admire, and who have inspired me professionally. There’s just something empowering about surrounding yourself and picking the brains of those who have authentic success stories. That said, I couldn’t be more excited to share this new series with you. I’ll be asking successful, creative, unique, and otherwise inspiring, career driven women, questions – some professional and others only a few cocktails would presume acceptable. But what would be a happy hour without all the dirt, right?

So to kick things off, my first guest is Molly of Heart of a Blonde. I first stumbled upon Heart of a Blonde through a mutual network Molly and I are both members of, and within minutes, knew this was a talented girl. At 24 years old, Molly has already accomplished so much, from developing her blog to being a repeating guest on The Morning Blend Buzz. And did I mention she also works in Marketing and is planning her wedding? The girl is a force to be reckoned with and to top it off, she’s basically a walking J.Crew catalog – her personal style is on point! So when she agreed to chat with us about her success, we were ecstatic.

It’s happy hour, what are you wearing?

Typically what I wore to work! You’ll likely find me in black skinnies, a flowing blouse, ankle booties, and some fun baubles. Oh, and don’t forget the lipstick. You’ll see me in a bright pink or red almost daily.

What’s your go-to cocktail? Or beer… since you do live in Milwaukee?

We do love our beer here! It honestly depends on the day. If I go beer – I’m definitely drinking a local IPA. If I need something with a little more oomph, either a whiskey ginger or an old fashioned!

What did you originally want to be when you grew up?

Pretty much until I was 18, I thought I would be a nurse. I’ve always loved the idea of caring for others – it plays to my strengths. Upon taking AP Biology during my senior year, I remembered that I hate science. There went my nursing dreams!

What motivated you to launch your blog, Heart of a Blonde?

I started blogging back in 2010 when many people weren’t doing it. I had an acquaintance in college who wrote a health and fitness blog… I became engrossed and just had a sort of gut feeling that I needed to write my own. I’ve always loved writing and expressing my thoughts (jeez, there are a lot of them in that head of mine), and once I discovered blogging, there was no going back.

Favorite part of blogging?

I’m cheating and giving two answers! The first is the creative process. I’m creative by nature, so my brain loves the idea of flexing its creativity muscle each and every day. The second is the community of people. I have met the most lovely and talented ladies that I now call real-life friends. I couldn’t do what I do without their support and encouragement.

How do you keep your wardrobe fresh and not repetitive?

To be honest, I do not buy new clothes very often. As of right now, I haven’t bought any new clothing since mid-December, and even then I bought one $13 shirt {I’m quite frugal!}. I really enjoy challenging myself to mix what’s already in my closet, but in order to not become too repetitive, I rely on J.Crew style catalogs for inspiration and plenty of accessories to change up my looks.

What has been the highlight of your career thus far?

In terms of my professional career, I’m still pretty young, but I would say landing my current position has been the highlight. I’m at a great, very young agency that values the work-hard, play-hard mentality. I feel accomplished leaving work every day, and yet everyone is supportive of my blog and other interests outside of work. It can be stressful at times, but I truly feel like a valued and essential part of our team.

You work in Marketing and your planning your wedding, how do you manage it all?

Ei ei yei. Coffee, fitness, beer, and lots of sleep. Just kidding! Those things definitely help, but organization is a girl’s best friend. It’s really important for me to have structured lists of things I need to accomplish at work and after work (like wedding planning). The best thing I’ve done for myself was already having a vision for my wedding before I even got engaged. I know guys make fun of girls for this, but it’s allowed me to skip a huge chunk of brainstorming what type of look and feel we want for our big day. Good thing my fiancé has been on board with my vision too!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “happy hour with: Molly Rasmussen of Heart of a Blonde

  1. Anna Marie says:

    It’s so easy to love Molly. Great post!

Leave a Reply

